February & My Reading Slump: All the Books I am Trying to Finish

A while ago my friend wrote a great post about books she is trying to finish (read it here). I am basically doing the same thing because there are so many books I’ve started and haven’t finished. Maybe this post is just meant to help me keep track…

Here they are, count them:

Novels

On Beauty by Zadie Smith

I am only one hundred pages away from finishing this book and I really and truly love it. Zadie Smith is a hell of a writer and her characters (as I have mentioned in past posts) are amazing. She captures the intricacies of family life, race, culture, society with grace, style, and compassion.

Hopscotch by Julio Cortazar

Started this way too long ago, but it is the seminal novel by my favorite short story author and I really want to get through it this year.

*drumroll please* *I started this in October*

Geek Love by Katherine Dunn

Not much to say, every time I sit down to read it, I wonder why I put it away. It’s a really interesting story, just long and I am easily distracted. It’s also a story about a circus with a real chicken head ripping geek, not a computer geek.

and this from over the summer:

Play it as it Lays by Joan Didion (at least I finished Slouching Towards Bethlehem and the White Album, ok?)

Essay Collections (for each I’ve included a quote I’ve most enjoyed so far)

How to be Alone by Jonathan Franzen

Imagine that human existence is defined by an Ache: the Ache of our not being, each of us, the center of the universe; of our desires forever outnumbering our means of satisfying them.

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

There is nothing gutsier to me than a person announcing that their story is one that deserves to be told, especially if that person is a woman. 

I Feel Bad About my Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman by Nora Ephron

Oh, how I regret not having worn a bikini for the entire year I was twenty-six. If anyone young is reading this, go, right this minute, put on a bikini, and don’t take it off until you’re thirty-four. 

Changing my Mind: Occasional Essays by Zadie Smith

(not started yet!) I bought this a few days ago at Kramer’s the same time that I bought Roland Barthes, The Language of Fashion. I have high hopes for both, especially because I like Zadie Smith’s fiction so much.

MISC. (?)

The Language of Fashion by Roland Barthes

I haven’t started this one yet but it was a recent purchase and it made it onto my nightstand which is a good sign. It deals with the semiological study of fashion and applies a linguistic lens to a fascinating industry.

And… that’s the whole dang post. What books are you trying to finish? What books are lingering on your shelf beckoning you to pick them up and crack them open?

X,

E

Leave a Reply

